Jay Schellen On Tour with Progressive Rock Legends YES

YES logoJay Schellen has joined the Summer 2016 USA tour by progressive rock legends YES, sitting in for legendary drummer Alan White, who is recovering from surgery.

From Alan White: "Until I’m able to rejoin the tour, my good friend Jay Schellen will be performing with the band and keeping my drum stool warm. Please welcome him to our YES family; he’s doing a great service by stepping in last minute so as to not disappoint everyone hoping to see YES music performed live this summer."

"Drummer Jay Schellen, a longtime Sherwood ally and former Asia member, handled intricate and brawny parts as if he’d had years, not weeks, to prepare." - Boston Globe Review

YES logo

Photo by Robin Kauffman

YES logo

Photo by Melodie Past


Raiding the Rock Vault - The Ultimate Classic Rock Experience

Raiding the Rock VaultJay Schellen is the drummer for top rated Las Vegas production "Raiding the Rock Vault", playing over 800 shows from 2012-2016 and earning the coveted "Best Musical" award in the Best of Las Vegas voting for 2014 and 2015 as well as being rated the #1 Las Vegas show on Trip Advisor for over a year. For more information about the show visit the Raiding the Rock Vault website.

The story of classic rock comes to life with RAIDING THE ROCK VAULT. Boasting the ultimate set list, the show takes audiences on a magical musical journey from 1948 to 1989, traversing the genre’s history chronologically through the ‘40s, ‘50s, ’60s, ’70s and ’80s.

RAIDING THE ROCK VAULT features classic anthems from The Rolling Stones, The Who, The Doors, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, the Eagles, Queen, Van Halen, AC/DC, Journey, Free, Bryan Adams, Supertramp, Toto, Deep Purple, and more, truly boasting “The Greatest Set List Ever.”

Raiding the Rock Vault


ASIA Featuring John Payne Announces First Single and Video from Forthcoming Album

[Dec 18, 2012]

Seasons Will ChangeASIA Featuring John Payne are set to make the music industry stand up and listen with their first single release "Seasons Will Change" now available as a digital single on iTunes and other mainstream online media outlets. Co-written by John Payne and Erik Norlander, "Seasons Will Change" is the first track unveiled from the band's forthcoming album "Americana", scheduled for release by Sony Music Japan in 2013. To promote the single, ASIA Featuring John Payne has released a promotional video for "Seasons Will Change": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr6JDq6XX3o

Buy the single on iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/seasons-will-change-single/id586372718


ASIA Featuring John Payne 2013 Tour Dates

[Dec 12, 2012]

ASIA Featuring John PayneCatch Jay drumming with ASIA featuring John Payne in the US!

Follow ASIA Featuring John Payne on Facebook and Twitter or check the website to keep updated.

Feb 1: Cabazon, CA / Morongo Casino (near Palm Springs)
March 20-25: "Moodies Cruise" Jamaican cruise - www.moodiescruise.com. Bands include The Moody Blues, the Zombies, Greg Lake and more.


Progressive Rock Band GPS releases LIVE 2DVD/4CD Box Set Entitled Two Seasons Live in Japan

[May 29, 2012]

GPS Two Seasons Live in JapanReleased by GONZO Multimedia, the box set features 2 video DVDS and 4 audio CDs containing two complete concerts.

GPS"GPS was a really fun project and we hope to do more in the configuration. We have footage from a couple of shows, some of it's a bit rough but it shows us having a good time in Japan. The DVD has 2 shows - one with the full rocking' band including yours truly with John Guthrie and Ryo and another acoustic with John and Guthrie. Check it out!" - Jay.

The "Two Seasons Live in Japan" box set is released by GONZO Multimedia and features progressive rockers John Payne (ASIA), Guthrie Govan (ASIA, the Aristocrats), Jay Schellen (ASIA, CIRCA:, Conspiracy), and Ryo Okumoto (Spocks Beard).

Priced at $29.99 (US) and £24.99 (UK) the box set is available NOW for pre-order at GONZO Multimedia (US) and GONZO Multimedia (UK/Europe).

Tracklist and sample videos here.


ASIA Featuring John Payne to Rock Playboy Mansion to Support DIO Cancer Fund

[September 26, 2011]

DIO Cancer FundASIA Featuring John Payne will be playing to support the 1st Annual Awards Gala for the Ronnie James Dio "Stand Up and Shout" Cancer Benefit Fund, to be held November 1, 2011 at the Playboy Mansion in Los Angeles, CA. The band is John Payne (vocals, bass), Bruce Bouillet (guitars), Erik Norlander (keyboards), and Jay Schellen (drums).

From Jay: "We are honored to support this great cause."

More information and how to support the fund: http://diocancerfund.org/events/



[September 14, 2011]

Unruly ChildUnruly Child will headline FIRFEST in Nottingham, UK on Sunday night October 23, 2011. The classic US band featuring Bruce Gowdy (guitars), Guy Allison (keys), Larry Antonino (bass), Jay Schellen (drums) and legendary vocalist Marcie Free, is playing an ultra-rare show (their first outside of the US). With a set that will be almost entirely taken from their legendary 1992 debut album and great 2010 comeback disc 'Worlds Collide', this will be their only European show this year. and not to be missed! More info: www.thefirefest.com/.


FIREWOLF Inks Japanese Release Deal

[August 26, 2011]

FirewolfeUSA metal band FIREWOLFE has inked a deal with Japanese metal label Rubicon Music. The band's self-titled debut album will be released in Japan in October. The Japanese version of the CD will include the special bonus track "Waiting for Daylight."

"FireWolfe is an extremely exciting band and their future is assured," said Geoff Gillespie, International A&R director for Rubicon Music. "It has been a long while since we have been lucky enough to hear a band with that special 'it' in such abundant quantities, and Rubicon music is proud and privileged to be associated with such an outstanding prospect." Rubicon Music has also released albums by Doro, Tesla and King Cobra in Japan.

FIREWOLFE features vocalist David Fefolt (HAWK, MASI, ANGELS OF BABYLON), guitarists Paul Kleff and Nick Layton, Jay Schellen (HURRICANE, ASIA, GPS, UNRULY CHILD) on drums and Zack Uidl (THOUGHTS BETRAYED) on bass. The album was mixed by John Payne (ASIA, GPS). Reviews have described the album as "a guitar heavy beast, intent on ripping your head off with razor sharp riffs and mighty solos… the real masterstroke however is the inclusion of singer David Fefolt, whose rasping howl is just perfect, jostling against the muscular riffs, with the frontman turning in the sort of confident, commanding performance that most metal singers can only dream of."

The track listing for the Japanese release is:

Air Attack
Armed Forces
Back from Hell
Wicked Words
Ice Wizard
Feel the Thunder
Waiting for Daylight (Japanese bonus track)

For more information and to download a free track from the album, visit www.firewolfe.com.

Modern Drummer Rocking Independence Cover

"Rocking Independence is a great method for rock independence and developing dexterity on the drumset." · Greg Bissonette

click here to see how the LAMITEXT™ technology works

click here to see how the LAMITEXT™ technology works

DW Drums - Official Site of Drum Workshop Products, Artists and Information

AKG Acoustics



News Archive